Program Details

Admission to the program

Any student who satisfactorily completes the B.S.E. freshman year program or its equivalent is eligible for admission to the program. Engineering students entering the program are strongly encouraged to complete the following courses or their equivalents by the end of the sophomore year.

PHY 205 or 207 – Classical Mechanics or Mechanics and Waves

PHY 208 – Principles of Quantum Mechanics

MAT 201 – Multivariable Calculus

MAT 202 – Linear Algebra with Applications

In applying for admission to the program, a student should indicate interest in a particular area of engineering and should be enrolled as a major in one of the six participating engineering departments or in physics. A student planning to enroll in the program should consult the director of the program who will assign a special adviser to help plan a curriculum.

Program of Study

An engineering physics major will normally satisfy both program and departmental requirements.  The curriculum for each student is worked out by the student and the student’s departmental adviser in consultation with the special adviser in engineering physics. In some cases, courses taken under the program requirements may be applied toward the fulfillment of regular departmental requirements.  The program requirements are as follows:

  1.  All students must take one upper-class course in mathematics (300 and 400 levels).
  2. Engineering majors must take a minimum of six advanced courses in physics (which may include the following 200-level courses: PHY 205, 207, 209, and 210), and must include the quantum mechanics (PHY 208).  At least four of the courses must be listed (or cross-listed) in the physics department.  In order to accommodate specific student interests, there is particular flexibility with regard to the two other courses, which may be a course with a strong physics content from other departments such as astrophysical sciences or chemistry, but must be approved in advance by the program’s committee.
  3. Physics majors enrolled in the program must have five engineering courses, chosen in consultation with their adviser.  They are required to take at least two of their engineering courses in a coherent area of study so that a clear engineering stem can be identified.

Close collaboration with faculty is expected.  Students are required to complete, with a grade of B- or better, at least one semester of independent work in an appropriate area.  Physics students are encouraged to have a professor in engineering serve as a reader on their senior thesis.

Program students are expected to demonstrate strong academic performance. To qualify for the engineering physics certificate upon graduation, a minimum grade average of B- in the program courses is required.  Courses taken pass/D/fail are permitted, but a pass counts as a C in determining grade average.

Further details can be obtained by contacting the director ([email protected]).

Jeffrey O. Kephart '80 Prize

The Jeffrey O. Kephart '80 Prize is awarded yearly to the Engineering Physics graduating senior with the most outstanding record.

No nominations are needed.  The Engineering Physics faculty nominates the candidates and selects the winner(s) at the end of each academic year. The award carries a monetary value of $1000.00.

Past winners of the Jeffrey O. Kephart '80 Prize are below:


2023        Julia Berndtsson                                              Physics

2022        Hoang Le                                                         Electrical and Computer Engineering

2021        Haicheng (Charles) Zhao                                Computer Science

2020        Geoffrey Zheng                                                Physics

2019        Ryoto Sekine                                                    Electrical Engineering

2018        Lamia Ateshian                                                Electrical Engineering

2016       Aditya Trivedi                                                    Physics

2015       Mark Stone and                                                Physics

                Andrew Ward                                                   Electrical Engineering

2014       Alexander Creely                                             Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

2013       Amaresh Sahu                                                 Chemical and Biological Engineering

2012       Matthew Edwards                                           Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

2011       Michael Gelbart                                               Physics

2010       Joonas Govenius                                            Physics          

2009       Chris Baldassano and                                    Electrical Engineering

                Kamil Khan                                                       Chemical Engineering

2008       Amirali Modir Shanechi                                  Electrical Engineering

2007       Jayson Paulose                                               Physics

2006       Catherine Kunkel                                             Physics

2005       Bryan Ellis and                                                 Electrical Engineering

                Julia Bert                                                          Physics

2004       Jonathan Fan                                                  Electrical Engineering

2003       Erik Nielsen                                                     Electrical Engineering

2002       Marc Schreiber                                               Physics

2001       Christine McLeavy                                          Physics

2000       Andrew Houck and                                         Electrical Engineering

                Kenneth Wu                                                     Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

1999       Gwendolyn Barriac and                                 Electrical Engineering

                Daniel Russell                                                 Computer Science

1998       McMahon Homer Reid                                  Physics

1997       Pei-Lin Hsiung                                                Electrical Engineering

1996       Adam Durst                                                     Electrical Engineering

1995       Dennis Yu                                                        Physics

1993       Ho Bun Chan                                                   Physics

1992       Scott Wunsch                                                  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

1991       Arthur Mateous                                               Physics

1990       Matthew Husman                                           Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

1989       Jerry Chia-yung Chen                                     Electrical Engineering

1988       John Michael Hergenrother                          Chemical Engineering

1987       Kathryn Diaroh Li                                            Physics

1986       Stuart Alan Jacobson                                    Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

1985       Julia Hsu                                                          Chemical Engineering